K. Male'
24 Apr 2024 | Wed 16:14
People's Majlis
People's Majlis
People's Majlis
New parliament to be sworn in on May 28
The ongoing parliament tenure will end on May 15
The swearing-in ceremony will be held on May 28
As per provisional results, PNC has won 66 seats

The swearing-in ceremony of the newly elected parliamentarians of the 20th tenure of the People’s Majlis, will be held next month.

Current Speaker of Parliament Mohamed Aslam made the announcement during Tuesday’s Majlis sitting.

Speaker Aslam stated that the newly elected parliamentarians will be sworn in during a ceremony scheduled to be held on May 28.

He added that preparations for the swearing-in ceremony are presently underway.

This means that the current parliament tenure will end on May 15.

Aslam also announced that the last sitting of the last session of the 19th parliament tenure will be held on May 13, as long as the house doesn’t decide otherwise.

According to provisional results, main ruling People’s National Congress (PNC) has secured 66 seats in parliament.

Five PNC-endorsed independent candidates who vied for seats also won.

Three parties who have pledged allegiance to the incumbent administration have also won a seat, each.

Former ruling and now main opposition Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP) was able to secure only 12 seats in Sunday’s elections.

11 independent candidates also won seats.

No candidate representing The Democrats and Adhaalath Party, were able to win a seat.

Last updated at: 3 weeks ago
Reviewed by: Fathimath Zuhaira