K. Male'
22 Apr 2024 | Mon 15:58
Formation congress of The Democrats
Formation congress of The Democrats
Parliamentary elections 2024
PNF, Democrats face embarrassing defeat in Sunday's polls
Both parties failed to secure a single seat
35 candidates from PNF contested
39 candidates from The Democrats contested

Former President Abdulla Yameen Abdul Gayoom’s People’s National Front (PNF) and Former President and Former Speaker of Parliament Mohamed Nasheed’s ‘The Democrats’ have suffered an embarrassing defeat in the parliamentary elections for the 20th tenure of parliament.

Both parties failed to secure even a single seat in Sunday’s polls.

35 candidates from PNF contested in the elections, with none of them succeeding in securing a seat.

PNF was formed under the lead of ex-president Yameen, after he severed ties with the Progressive Party of Maldives (PPM).

The Democrats was formed by the estranged former leader of main opposition Maldivian Democratic Party (MDP), Nasheed, after divisions were formed within the party and it was divided into two fractions during the leadership of former president Ibrahim Mohamed Solih.

A total of 39 candidates including seven incumbent parliamentarians from the 19th tenure of parliament, contested for seats in the 20th Majlis tenure. They included lawmakers who have held on to their seats for a long time.

Provisional results show that now-ruling People’s National Congress (PNC) has secured supermajority for the upcoming parliament .

Last updated at: 3 weeks ago
Reviewed by: Fathimath Zuhaira