National Integrity Commission

President appoints four members to NIC

  • NIC currently consists of five members, with the new appointment
  • They received their letters of appointment at the President's Office on Monday
  • Parliament approved their appointment last week

K. Male' 2020 Oct 26 | Mon 15:52 local 2,290

They were appointed on Monday - Presidents Office

President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih has appointed four members to the National Integrity Commission (NIC).

Appointed on Monday were Gasim Abdul Kareem, Aminath Shadiya, Aishath Shiuna and Shuaib Abdul Rahman.

The new appointees were presented with their letters of appointment during a ceremony held at the President’s Office on Monday afternoon.

With their appointment, the commission currently consists of five members including recently appointed member, Colonel (Retired) Ahmed Jihad alone.

Last week, the People’s Majlis approved their appointment with votes from 50 parliamentarians for Shadiya and Shiuna and 51 votes for Shuaib and Gasim.

Shadiya and Shiuna were highly recommended by the committee on independent institutions that reviewed the nominations.

Last updated at: 2 weeks ago | Reviewed by: Aman Haleem

Comment on Article

To share a news drop us an email to [email protected] or contact us at 3007773