75 teams from 20 atolls to compete in Minivan Championship 2017

  • B. Eydhafushi was crowned champions in 2016
  • 74 teams competed in Minivan Championship 2016

K. Male' | Aishath Shaany | 01-February-2017 | Wednesday 22:50 | Shaaknee | Sport | 2,745

B. Eydhafushi was crowned champions in 2016 -- Photo by: google

A total of 75 clubs will compete in this year’s Minivan Championship football tournament.

The tournament is to begin on February 15.

According to the Football Association of Maldives (FAM), a total of 75 teams from 20 atolls had submitted forms by Sunday, the deadline to participate.

While the tournament will be held in eight zones, most teams competing are from Haa Dhaalu and Thaa atolls; seven teams from each atoll.

The best four teams of the Championship will be given the opportunity to compete in the Dhivehi Premier League.

Last year’s Minivan Championship title was won by a team from Baa Eydhafushi, while a total of 74 teams competed in the tournament.

Want to share a story with raajje.mv? email us at [email protected] or call (+960) 9110099